It’s back: Master of Orion II: Battle at Antares

MOO2

Quick 3.5 hour life recap. If your not interested in old school (12 years old, I’m only 22) strategy games, don’t bother reading, just pretend this wasn’t posted.

So, I used to be a huge fan of Master of Orion II: Battle at Antares. Unfortunately once I upgraded my machine back in 2003 (my pre-mac era), Moo2 stopped running, or better yet it ran, but was quite grainy, crashy, and frankly unplayable (the game was designed for DOS and Win ’95). So I gave up on one of my favorite games of all time. Since then I would occasionally try it, thinking maybe something changed and I’d get lucky. But unfortunately no dice.

Then tonight happened, and for some reason I had an inclination to give it another go. But this time I was thinking. In the past, I never did search to see if there were work arounds, duh. Never did search to see what other people were doing (keeping old boxes around or what). The place I discovered hope: Wikipedia. This entry specifically.

People are using an open source Dos emulator, DOSbox, to play the game; brilliant! You may be well aware of all this, but I definitely wasn’t.

My actual install steps after the break.

3 and a half hours later and this game still rocks. You know how sometimes you’ll play a older game you haven’t player in years, that you used to love, only to become quickly bored and disappointed? Well that definitely didn’t happen for me, I still love this game, hands down.

By now your may be wondering, wow Ethan, it’s Friday night: First off, what the heck are you doing trying to get a 12 year old, strategy, turn based game working? Second off, what the heck are you doing playing a 12 year old, strategy, turn based game? Well that’s just who I am. Why not tonight? Furthermore. I’m trying to conserve every dollar right now, for SXSW. My whole mind is currently occupied by SXSW. I’ve been planning, strategizing and investigating. More on all that later.

How I got the game to work:

I downloaded and installed Dosbox

Copied the entire contents of the orignal MOO2 Game CD to a folder called Moo2 on my hard drive (to speed up game play).

Created another folder called Orion.

Booted up DOSbox.

Mounted the Game CD Contents folder as if it was a cdrom drive

[mount d d:\moo2 -t cdrom].

Then I mount the other folder I created as the c:\ for Dosbox

[mount c c:\orion]

Then access the emulated cdrom, [d:\] , and [install].

Select the emulated c:\ as the install destination and whabam, installs no problem, and Setupsound runs after install (I selected generic Sound Blaster drivers and it detects my hardware no problem).

Hell yes.

Setup finishes. I type Orion2 and the game takes off.

One response to “It’s back: Master of Orion II: Battle at Antares

  1. Geek News Central ( http://geeknewscentral.com ) and AustinCast ( http://austincast.com/sxsw ) are doing interviews at SXSW with attendees, panelists and trade show exhibitors. GNC has a series running on itunes now of CES 2008 interviews if you want to see a sample of what we do.

    We’d like to interview if possible by phone or skype before SXSW and in person during SXSW. If this is agreeable to you please send us either your phone or skype id and a good time to call or skype you. If you have skype with video that would be perfect.

    Interviewers are myself, Dina Knight and Cheryl Hill. My email is walhus@gmail.com and the cell phone number is 512.699.4000. My skype id is walhus

    I hope you can do this!

    Thanks,

    Paul Terry Walhus
    http://austincast.com/sxsw
    http://justin.tv/austintexas
    http://geeknewscentral.com

Leave a Reply

